Michiana Area Council of Governments

Executive Director: James Turnwald

Contact Information:

227 W. Jefferson Blvd.

1120 County/City Building

South Bend, IN 46601

Phone: 574.287.1829

Fax: 574.287.1840

Email: macogdir@macog.com



Urbanized Areas:

South Bend, IN;

Elkhart-Goshen, IN


Counties Served:

Elkhart Co.

Kosciusko Co.

Marshall Co.

St. Joseph Co.


MACOG represents two urbanized areas, the Elkhart-Goshen Urbanized Area and the South Bend Urbanized Area.  MACOG's area of representation (1,384 square miles with 22 cities and towns and 29 townships) also includes St. Joseph County, Marshall County, and Elkhart County including the cities of South Bend, Mishawaka, Elkhart, Goshen, Nappanee, and Plymouth.  MACOG also provides some services to the Niles, Michigan area.


MACOG is charged with the responsibility of promoting an efficient and effective intermodal transportation system.  MACOG's activities include, but are not limited to transit, rail, highways, air quality, water quality, livable communities and bicycle and pedestrian issues.  In addition to developing and implementing a 20-year Transportation Plan (TP) and a three-year Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), MACOG maintains a full line of traffic surveillance and monitoring programs (traffic counting, accident inventories, etc.), develops corridor and sub-area analysis, completes a railroad crossing inventory, and provides technical research and assistance to local officials.  MACOG also developed and manages the operation of four transit services: Heart City Rider (Elkhart), Goshen Transit Service (Goshen), Rock City Rider (Plymouth), and The Bus (Elkhart to Goshen).


In addition to transportation planning, MACOG serves as a broad range planning forum for decision makers, local elected officials, and planning agencies.  For instance, as a state affiliate U.S. Census data center, MACOG staff provide officials and citizens in the region with census information.  In addition, MACOG is currently assisting St. Joseph and Elkhart Counties in the development of a regional Geographic Information System (GIS).  Also, recently, on behalf of the region’s highest elected officials and community stakeholders, MACOG has been asked to seek Economic Development District designation for the region.  This designation is appointed by the U.S. Department of Commerce, Economic Development Administration.  Other recent topics of interest have included cell phone tower siting standards, fiber optics, and global positioning systems (GPS).


MACOG also provides staff to the St. Joseph River Basin Commission (SJRBC).  SJRBC works on water quality planning throughout the River Basin in Indiana.  The Commission includes representatives from Elkhart, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, St. Joseph, and Steuben Counties.  SJRBC is the recipient of various grant funds related to the Clean Water Act, coordinated by the Indiana Department of Environmental Management.


Return to Indiana MPO Regions Map

©2017, Indiana MPO Council, All Rights Reserved